

2020 ANNUAL MEETING June 11, 2019 | 3:00 PM | Zoom

PRESENT:

Loreley Chekay, Q.C.
Reché McKeague
Crystal Norbeck
Kenton Gray
Laura Klemmer
Marinko Jelovic
Samuel Edmondson
Suzanne Young
Anna Beatch
Amy Groothuis
Tiffany Paulsen, Q.C.

Jana Linner Charmaine Panko Timothy Brown, Q.C. Charlene Greve Dale Brown David Thera, Q.C. Honourable Don Morgan, Q.C. Foluke Laosebikan, Ph.D. Alan Rankine Steven Dribnenki Monteen Dent Chris Weitzel Kathryn Gilliss James Steele Andrea Phillips Barton Soroka Bonnie Reddekopp Candace Guist Chad Eggerman Amy Gibson Brea Lowenberger Jody Snow

QUORUM: Confirmed

1. Call Meeting to Order – President, Loreley Chekay, Q.C.

2. Approval of Agenda

Motion by Chris Weitzel that the agenda as presented be approved. Seconded by Kathyrn Gilliss. Carried.

 Approval of Minutes
Motion by Reché McKeague that the Minutes of June 13, 2019 Annual Meeting be approved as presented. Seconded by Crystal Norbeck. Carried.

4. Greetings:

Honourable Don Morgan, Q.C., Minister of Justice and Attorney General of Saskatchewan brought greetings on behalf of the Government of Saskatchewan, Ministry of Justice.

5. President's Report

Loreley introduced members of the Board and thanked them and the branch staff for their work. She also noted the work done by Section Chairs and advised Committee reports were available in the Annual Report as circulated and Section reports were available online. Loreley thanked Nicholas Cann, Q.C. for his service and also thanked Charmaine Panko for her service and commitment to the CBA as she completes her term as Legislation and Law Reform Director.

6. Treasurer's Report

Reché McKeague outlined some key points regarding the 2018-2019 Financial Statements contained in the Annual Report and discussed the proposed Budget for 2020-2021. She pointed out that given rapidly changing circumstances this was the Budget that reflected the information as is currently known. The Budget is forecast with a \$46,460 deficit but the expectation is that we will not have a deficit for 2019-2020 as previously budgeted and this will help offset the expected deficit in 2020-2021. Motion by Reché McKeague, that the budget as presented for 2020-2021 be approved. Seconded by Barton Soroka. Carried.



7. Nominating Committee

Chris Weitzel presented the slate of candidates noting there were still some vacancies. He advised that Jana Linner would be joining the Board as Treasurer, Anna Beatch as Education Director and James Steele as Legislation and Law Reform Director.

Motion by Chris Weitzel that the slate of candidates as presented by approved and that the Board be authorized to fill the remaining vacant positions. Seconded by Charmaine Panko. Carried.

11. Passing of the Gavel to Incoming President Loreley Chekay, Q.C. virtually passed the gavel and acknowledged that Chris Weitzel had received the President's Pin to acknowledge his role of 2020-2021 President. Chris Weitzel then thanked Loreley Chekay, Q.C. for her term of office and commitment to members.

12. Adjournment

There being no other business motion by Jana Linner, seconded by Barton Soroka that the 2020 Annual Meeting adjourn.

Chief Justice Richards, Court of Appeal; Chief Justice Popescul, Court of Queen's Bench; and Chief Judge Plemel, Provincial Court, have provided written reports from their respective Courts which will be available on the CBA Saskatchewan web site.

Signed by Monteen Dent, Executive Director

Date