

MINUTES 2021 Annual Meeting

2021 ANNUAL MEETING June 17, 2021 | 3:30 PM | Zoom

QUORUM: Confirmed – Record of meeting attendance attached.

Call Meeting to Order and Land Acknowledgement – President, Chris Weitzel, Q.C.

Approval of Consent Agenda MOTION by Reché McKeague that the Consent Agenda as presented be approved. SECONDED by Loreley Chekay, Q.C. CARRIED.

3. Greetings:

Honourable Gordon Wyant, Q.C., Minister of Justice and Attorney General of Saskatchewan brought greetings on behalf of the Government of Saskatchewan, Ministry of Justice.

Kaylea Dunn, McKercher LLP, brought greetings on behalf of CBIA Lawyers Financial.

Bonnie Reddekopp, CBA Director, brought greetings on behalf of CBA National.

4. President's Report

Chris introduced members of the Board and thanked them and the branch staff for their work. He also recognized the work done by Section Chairs and their executives for the past year. He thanked CBA Saskatchewan's community partners for their support and noted that we will continue to utilize technology for some meetings and events in the future. He advised Committee reports were available in the Annual Report as circulated and, Section reports were available online.

5. Bylaw Amendments

Reché McKeague noted that there are proposed wording changes in the CBASK Branch Bylaws – Terms of Office, Part 19, Paragraph 5, Sections Committee Executive. She outlined the revisions and spoke to the rationale for the amendments, noting that the amendment documents are available on the CBASK website. With no opposition to the amendments declared, a MOTION was made by Reché McKeague to accept the proposed wording as presented.

- (5) Unless otherwise approved by the Board of Directors:
 - (a) The initial term of office of a section Executive Committee member shall be two (2) annual periods;
 - (b) A section Executive Committee member shall be eligible for reappointment to the same office for a second term of two (2) annual periods; and
 - (c) A section Executive Committee member shall not hold the same office for more than four consecutive annual periods, but there is no maximum term for which a member may serve on a section Executive Committee.

SECONDED by Jana Linner. CARRIED



MINUTES 2021 Annual Meeting

6. Governance Review Committee

Reché McKeague outlined the purpose and focus of the Governance Review Committee and defined the three roles this committee seeks to fulfil. Final recommendations from the Committee will be reported to the Board of Directors by August 31, 2021.

7. Treasurer's Report

Jana Linner summarized key points of the 2019-2020 Financial Statements contained in the Annual Report and made mention of how the COVID pandemic has affected budget planning. She pointed out that the 2020-2021 Budget was forecast with a \$46,460 deficit however, the expectation is that the fiscal year will end with a surplus of \$65,000. Jana outlined the proposed Budget for 2021-2022 and noted it is forecast with a deficit of \$46,460.

MOTION by Jana Linner that the budget as presented for 2021-2022 be approved. SECONDED by Amy Groothuis. CARRIED.

8. Nominating Committee

Loreley Chekay, Q.C. presented the slate of candidates indicated in the Nominating Committee Report - page 18 of the Annual Report. She advised that all but one of the positions have been filled as of today. MOTION to accept the slate of candidates by Loreley Chekay, Q.C. SECONDED by James Steele. CARRIED. Loreley introduced and congratulated Steven Dribnenki, who will be joining the CBASK Board of Directors as Treasurer on September 1, 2021.

9. Incoming President

Chris Weitzel, Q.C. thanked Reché McKeague for all she has done as Vice President and extended acknowledgment of the extensive committee work she has undertaken this year. Chris introduced and congratulated Reché McKeague as the incoming President for 2021-2022. Reché thanked Chris for his term of office and his commitment to CBASK members and Board governance.

10. Adjournment

There being no other business a MOTION was made by James Steele and SECONDED by Jana Linner that the 2021 Annual Meeting adjourn. CARRIED.

Chief Justice Richards, Court of Appeal; Chief Justice Popescul, Court of Queen's Bench; and Chief Judge Metivier, Provincial Court of Saskatchewan, have provided written reports from their respective Courts which are available on the CBA Saskatchewan web site.

Signed by Monteen Dent, Executive Director	 Date	

Attachment: Record of Attendees