

CHRISTOPHER WEITZEL TO BECOME CBA SASKATCHEWAN PRESIDENT EFFECTIVE SEPTEMBER 1, 2020.

The Canadian Bar Association Saskatchewan Branch is pleased to announce that Christopher Weitzel will be the Branch President effective September 1, 2020.

Mr. Weitzel graduated from the University of Regina in 2000 with a BA and then went on to the College of Law and Capital Law School at the University of Saskatchewan earning his JD in 2003. Mr. Weitzel completed the Business Leadership Program for In-House Counsel from the Rotman School of Management receiving his Certified In-House Counsel (CIC.C) designation in 2020.

Since 2004 he has practiced in various law firms and in-house counsel roles and is currently the Associate General Counsel - Corporate at Saskatchewan Government Insurance. His practice involves contract, procurement, litigation and trademark issues as well as leadership responsibilities.

Mr. Weitzel has been involved with the CBA throughout his career and as the Public Outreach Director he oversaw Law Day including the High School Student Mock Trial Tournament. He also advanced through the roles of Treasurer and then Vice President. He assumes the role of President of the CBA Saskatchewan Branch on September 1, 2020.

Please join us in welcoming him and other members of the CBA Saskatchewan 2020-2021 Board of Directors:

Vice President: Reché McKeague, City of Saskatoon Solicitor's Office

Treasurer: Jana Linner, MLT Aikins LLP

Immediate Past President: Loreley Chekay, Q.C., SGI

Education Director: Anna Beatch, MLT Aikins LLP

Legislation & Law Reform Director: James Steele, Robertson Stromberg LLP

Public Outreach Director: Kathryn Gilliss, Trobert Gilliss Law Firm

Executive Director: Monteen Dent